Thank you to the many alumni who applied to the 2017 JET Furusato Vision Project. The application period for 2017 has ended as of 8 May. Applicants can expect to be notified of the results of the first round of screening in late May.

For information regarding applications for 2018, please visit:

Are you a former JET participant interested in contributing to your ‘home-away-from-home’, your furusato in Japan? Through this project you can return to your former place of employment on JET, visit places you had strong connections with and reconnect with the community. More importantly, you can develop and implement your own ‘Vision Plan’ that utilises the skills and connections you acquired after JET to make new contributions to your former community in areas such as Tourism Promotion, Economic Exchange, Educational Exchange, Culture & Arts Exchange, Grassroots Exchange, Career Support (of current JET participants, etc.), or any other relevant project to deepen your ties with your furusato and their ties with the world.

JET alumni whose former contracting organisations are in Western Japan were eligible to apply in 2017. JET alumni whose former contracting organisations are in Eastern Japan may apply in 2018.

→Prefectures in Western Japan

→Prefectures in Eastern Japan

There may be some changes made to the application process for 2018, but JET alumni may view the 2017 application guidelines and application materials below for their reference. Please direct any enquiries about the project to the e-mail address below after reading the Frequently Asked Questions.

E-mail Address for Enquiries:furusato(@)

2017 JET Furusato Vision Project Flyer PDF

2017 JET Furusato Vision Project Application Guidelines PDF

Form 1 JET Furusato Vision Project Application PDF

Form 2 Resume PDF

Form 3 Furusato Vision Plan PDF

Sample Form 3 PDF

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

Western Japan (Kansai, Chugoku, Shikoku, Kyushu, Okinawa); Applications Closed:

Kansai Region: Mie, Shiga, Kyoto, Osaka, Hyogo, Nara, Wakayama

Chugoku Region: Tottori, Shimane, Okayama, Hiroshima, Yamaguchi

Shikoku Region: Tokushima, Kagawa, Ehime, Kochi

Kyushu/Okinawa Region: Fukuoka, Saga, Nagasaki, Kumamoto, Oita, Miyazaki, Kagoshima, Okinawa

Eastern Japan (Hokkaido, Tohoku, Kanto, Chubu); eligible in 2018:

Hokkaido Region:Hokkaido

Tohoku Region:Aomori, Iwate, Miyagi, Akita, Yamagata, Fukushima

Kanto Region:Ibaraki, Tochigi, Gunma, Saitama, Chiba, Tokyo, Kanagawa

Chubu Region:Niigata, Toyama, Ishikawa, Fukui, Yamanashi, Nagano, Gifu, Shizuoka, Aichi