Are you a former JET participant interested in contributing to your ‘home-away-from-home’, your furusato in Japan? Through this project you can return to your former place of employment on JET, visit places you had strong connections with and reconnect with the community. More importantly, you can develop and implement your own ‘Vision Plan’ that utilises the skills and connections you acquired after JET to make new contributions to your former community in areas such as Tourism Promotion, Economic Exchange, Educational Exchange, Culture & Arts Exchange, Grassroots Exchange, Career Support (of current JET participants etc.), or some other project to deepen your ties with your furusato and their ties with the world.

JET alumni whose former contracting organisations are in Western Japan are eligible to apply in 2017. JET alumni whose former contracting organisations are in Eastern Japan may apply in 2018.

→Prefectures in Western Japan

→Prefectures in Eastern Japan

JET alumni interested in applying should read the Application Guidelines and submit Form 1 ‘JET Furusato Vision Project Application’, Form 2 ‘Resume’, and Form 3 ‘Furusato Vision Plan’to the email address indicated below. Enquiries regarding this project and be directed to the same address.

We look forward to receiving your application!

Application Period: Friday, 17 March, 2017 – Monday, 8 May, 2017 9:00 A.M. (Japan Standard Time)

Email Address for Applications and Enquiries:furusato(@)


JET Furusato Vision Project Flyer  PDF

JET Furusato Vision Project Application Guidelines  PDF

Form 1 JET Furusato Vision Project Application  PDF

Form 2 Resume   PDF

Form 3 Furusato Vision Plan   PDF

Sample Form 3   PDF

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)


Western Japan (Kansai, Chugoku, Shikoku, Kyushu, Okinawa); eligible in 2017:

  Kansai Region: Mie, Shiga, Kyoto, Osaka, Hyogo, Nara, Wakayama

  Chugoku Region: Tottori, Shimane, Okayama, Hiroshima, Yamaguchi

  Shikoku Region: Tokushima, Kagawa, Ehime, Kochi

  Kyushu/Okinawa Region: Fukuoka, Saga, Nagasaki, Kumamoto, Oita, Miyazaki, Kagoshima, Okinawa

Eastern Japan (Hokkaido, Tohoku, Kanto, Chubu); eligible in 2018:

  Hokkaido Region:Hokkaido

  Tohoku Region:Aomori, Iwate, Miyagi, Akita, Yamagata, Fukushima

  Kanto Region:Ibaraki, Tochigi, Gunma, Saitama, Chiba, Tokyo, Kanagawa

  Chubu Region:Niigata, Toyama, Ishikawa, Fukui, Yamanashi, Nagano, Gifu, Shizuoka, Aichi